3 Key Points
- Clarification on Rose and Moore’s Kapalua mishap
- Penalty strokes inflicted upon Justin Rose clarified
- Golf Channel reporting and Moore’s response detailed
PGA Tour professional Taylor Moore recently addressed a misreported incident involving fellow competitor Justin Rose during the Sentry Tournament of Champions. The mix-up occurred at Kapalua’s seventh hole, where a mistaken ball led to a penalty for Rose.
Rose unintentionally played Moore’s ball, incurring a two-stroke penalty under Rule 6.3c(1). Following the event, Rose acknowledged the error on Twitter, highlighting the challenge of returning to competition after a break.
Dispute and Clarification
Subsequently, a narrative emerged insinuating Moore had neglected to inform Rose of a ball number change, an action traditionally based on player etiquette. Moore decisively rebutted this claim, asserting he used the same ball number throughout the day and emphasizing reputable behavior on the course.
Golf Channel’s Coverage and Moore’s Rebuttal
Moore found fault with Golf Channel’s portrayal of events and Curt Byrum’s on-air commentary, which inferred a breach of etiquette on Moore’s part. Denying such allegations, Moore took to Twitter for rectification, underscoring his consistent ball use and Rose’s professional conduct.
Moore’s corrective statements challenge the accuracy of the initial Golf Channel broadcast, intent on preserving the facts of the occurrence and upholding the integrity of the game and its players.